Basic TCM Theories

Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) is based upon multiple theories that explain how the body works including the theory of Qi, Yin & Yang, and the Five Elements. These theories describe the natural world and the laws of the universe, including human beings, as we are not separate from the natural world.

Ancient texts also refer to the 5 Vital Substances; Qi, Essence, Blood, Spirit, and Body Fluids. In TCM, the body is known to have 12 organ systems and corresponding meridians, along with 8 more 'extraordinary' meridians that don't have an associated organ but still play an important role in the functioning of the body.